Caryn Gilbert, Photographer, US – Palm Springs, California

“Photography, as well as the self-imposed discipline of a daily photoblog, would turn out to be my saving grace…”


caryngilbertf1a2aCaryn Gilbert, Photographer

 I warmly welcome Caryn Gilbert, a photographer living in the mountains at edge of the southern California desert. Caryn brings us a world of clarity, color and small moments focused on things so easily missed in today’s hurried lifestyle. When I look into her world, I feel I’m a part of each photo – as if I’m somehow inside the photographic moment, as if I could reach out and open that gate, pick up that phone or walk through that motel door.  Great to have Caryn as this week’s featured artist on from1artist2another!
 .
Artist Statement
 .
When I first picked up a digital camera back in 2008, I had no idea where my life was about to take me, that I would soon leave Los Angeles, where I was born and raised, for the desert and that the desert, in turn, would lead me to a tiny village in the mountains near Palm Springs.
Photography, as well as the self-imposed discipline of a daily photoblog, would turn out to be my saving grace during an otherwise difficult time. I began exploring my new surroundings through the lens of a secondhand DSLR and, in the process, developed a deep appreciation for the subtle beauty of the desert as well as an intense fascination with its abandoned and most desolate places.

Six years later, I’m just as likely to shoot with a vintage film camera as a digital one and my photography now encompasses a wider range of subjects. Even so, it’s my time in the desert, specifically the relationship between beauty and blight that I first explored there, that continues to inform the majority of my images.

http://www.caryngilbert.com/

http://instamaticgratification.wordpress.com/

 

GALLERY 4

GALLERY 3

GALLERY 2

 

GALLERY 1

 

19 thoughts on “Caryn Gilbert, Photographer, US – Palm Springs, California

  1. Thank you so much, Douglas. I love what you’ve created here and it’s truly an honor to be featured alongside so many talented artists!

    Like

Leave a Reply

